Having trouble with my off road lights... Help please?

Discussion in 'Exterior' started by Taylor_allen92, Dec 16, 2012.

1. Taylor_allen92

Taylor_allen92 Full Access Member

Well I mounted two 6" no name brand lights behind my grill a while ago, they came with 55 watt bulbs (one of which was burnt out and with the store being 45 minutes away I wasn't going to worry about exchanging a $10 light), but I picked up some 100 watt bulbs, 20 amp fuses and fuse holder from autozone. I had some 14 gauge wire at home and used that. I was told from the guy at autozone that I shouldnt need a relay and since I am still learning about the specifics of electronics, decided not to get one. The worker there helped me figure out how to wire them up and it was a crappy design... I asked a friend at work and he helped wire a more understanding and feasable diagram. But once I turned everything on, he just kinda looked at me and said "That's it?" He has 55w bulbs and they are literally twice as bright as mine... He suggested getting a bigger gauge wire (like 12 gauge) thinking that maybe the 14 is constricting the power flow a little, but I was wondering if there is maybe another issue? I will draw up a diagram of how I have it set up and post it later, but any help would be great!!

Taylor

2. Pity7700

Pity7700 oh umm...uhh?

dim lights could have to do with a bad ground. check your grounds again to make sure the surface is bare metal, no rust...sometimes paint will cause you to have a bad ground.

dude wire them lights up the proper way with a relay and a fuse and a switch. its simple and protects the circuit.

wiring a relay is easy, one prong is ground, one is load, one is 12V source and one is your switch. put the fuse on the 12V wire.

the 14AWG wire you have should be ok. the 100watt bulbs you have are drawing 8A each, that 14 gauge wire can handle atleast 30A.

3. Taylor_allen92