Possible electrical charging issue

Discussion in 'F-250 and F-350 General Tech and Info' started by Bdons-SD, Dec 18, 2016.

1. Bdons-SD

Bdons-SD Anti spark plug!

Hey guys, anything electrical typically goes right over my head. I have basic knowledge of automotive electrical systems. With that said here's my issue:

Headlights are dim at idle, brighten up when I give it gas
    Vent/defrost blower slows down at idle, speed up when I give it gas
    Battery light intermittently comes on. Blinks once or twice then I don't see it for a day or so.

Here's what I've checked:

Tested batteries at shmoreillys, they're good, but charged at 70%, alternators good on the running test. Also had the alternator bench tested 3 times. Batteries are 4 months old, alternator is about a year old.

I checked the voltage, 12.2 on both batteries while engine is off, about the same when engine is running, it wasn't running long after sitting for 2 days so it could probably use a re check. But I figured as long as it isn't below 12 I'm good. Alternator is putting out 14.5-14.7, both wires on the exciter plug are putting out 12.2.

I'm ordering a new exciter plug since I know it's a common failure and it could just be wiggling around causing my battery light, the headlights and vents are what confuse me. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Roush PSD Interceptor

Roush PSD Interceptor 7.3L Straight Piped Diesel

Fully charged batteries should be 12.6 - 12.7.
    Each cell in a 12 volt battery makes 2.1 volts.
    So what seems like a drain at idle is the
    batteries trying to charge up to 12.6.

Takes 15 minutes of driving time to charge a battery from one normal engine starting.

People who make 5-7 short in town stops and engine starts usually
    have drained their battery by the 6th or 7th start because
    they haven't had enough engine run time between starts
    to fully recharge the battery.

Not saying this is your case,