tranny slipping

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by f3cbboy, Aug 3, 2017.

  1. f3cbboy

    f3cbboy Junior Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    rockland county NY
    hi maybe i could ask for some help -
    05 xlt - have tranny fault light on dash. no check engine light. Overdrive turns off when the fault comes in. trany slips when i pull out in drive but it basically drives fine when i pull out in first and shift manually through 2nd and into drive. i'm kinda thinking it isn't an internal problem with the trans being it runs ok shifting manually, but there is lots of sensors mounted on the outside of the trans and i have no idea which one it could be??
    thanks in advance for any help
     
  2. Roush PSD Interceptor

    Roush PSD Interceptor Straight Piped Diesel Staff Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    9,214
    Likes Received:
    455
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ringgold, Georgia
    Sounds like the shift solenoid/actuator for the gear it isn't shifting from/to.

    Find someone who has a code scanner that can read the transmission fault codes

    The prices of those things keep falling, a little googling will lead you to the cheapest high quality ones.



    Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
  3. Roush PSD Interceptor

    Roush PSD Interceptor Straight Piped Diesel Staff Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    9,214
    Likes Received:
    455
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ringgold, Georgia
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2017
  4. f3cbboy

    f3cbboy Junior Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    rockland county NY
    thanks I just found someone with the scanner reader. I appreciate the response. I'll tell you how it goes later today.
     
    Roush PSD Interceptor likes this.
  5. Shaggy

    Shaggy Administrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    So what did you find out?
     
  6. f3cbboy

    f3cbboy Junior Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    rockland county NY
    I found out nothing 10 days ago...but today i had an AAmaco shop hook it up for free diagnosis. he told me that there was the P0605 code and a main computer ROM code too. he test rode it and said it was slipping very badly from 1st into 2nd and there was a shudder when it tried to shift. I asked if that was the rpms coming up and shuddering when it finally moved to the next gear and he didn't address this.
    the bottom line: $3600 for a brand new tranny, torgue converter.

    I am having it looked at by someone else tomorrow.

    How did i get from a bad ECU code and a MAS code to a new transmission? maybe i am missing something.
     
  7. Roush PSD Interceptor

    Roush PSD Interceptor Straight Piped Diesel Staff Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    9,214
    Likes Received:
    455
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ringgold, Georgia
    Sounds good for the AAmaco
    transmission shop.
    Maybe something smaller that fixes it than an entire rebuilt transmission and torque converter.
    Smart on your part to have a
    "second opinion".

    Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
     
  8. f3cbboy

    f3cbboy Junior Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    rockland county NY
    for my own info would a reasonable thing to do would be to change the TPS and clean the TBody then flash the computer? I have cleaned the throttle body many times and never once flashed the computer. I didn't know i had to .

    could having cleaned the throttle body many times and never once flashing the computer lead to an issue that appears to be a bad transmission. Even if it idles fine. flashing the computer lets the TPS relearn the optimum position of the throttle where it idles best as well as providing info as to when to shift correct?

    thanks
     
  9. Roush PSD Interceptor

    Roush PSD Interceptor Straight Piped Diesel Staff Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    9,214
    Likes Received:
    455
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ringgold, Georgia
    The you shifting it manually
    makes me think it is something to do with the
    shift solenoid.
    In the older transmissions
    pressure would build in the
    valve body between each
    gear causing it to shift into
    the next higher gear.
    With today's electronic
    transmissions, speed has alot
    to do with when the next
    higher gear is selected by a
    shift solenoid or actuator.

    Did you actually see the code on the scanner or was this what was told to you ?

    Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2017 at 8:21 PM
  10. Roush PSD Interceptor

    Roush PSD Interceptor Straight Piped Diesel Staff Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    9,214
    Likes Received:
    455
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ringgold, Georgia
    I'm still at a loss understanding as well why you can manually shift it and it works.
    If it were a bad ECU prom flash wouldn't it act funny even during manual shift since that error code is in the engine ECU and not the trans PCM.

    Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page