Aux. light question

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by 06-STX, Mar 15, 2013.

  1. 06-STX

    06-STX Junior Member

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Just installed a set of hella 500s on my brush guard but i want to wire them into my high beams. That way I don't have to mess with flipping 2 switches when I meet a car. Can anyone help me out with this?
     
  2. 6.2

    6.2 Banned

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    pretty simple, you could wire it so it only gets power when the high beams are one, instead of getting power from the battery, find the wire that is used for the high beams, and tap into that one.

    no idea what wire you will need, but thats how you would go about doing it.
     
  3. Pity7700

    Pity7700 oh umm...uhh?

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,895
    Likes Received:
    278
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Flat rock Michigan
    I would use a relay. use the high beam power wire as the "switch" wire for the relay. hook the hellas up to the relay at proper pin, connect ground and fused 12v wire from battery. this will protect your circuit.

    im not a big fan of wiring into factory harness' but I knowhow much of a pain it is to flip your aux lights on and off all the time..

    give me a second and I will look up a wiring diagram and get the wire color you need.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2013
  4. 01f1502wd

    01f1502wd going up? yes i am.

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    8,378
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    T.E.X.A.S
    yes, I can. if you pull out your headlight bulb or unplug the bulb, look on the harness, there will be three wires, one for ground, one for low beams and one for high beams. (I dont know the color wires though :( ) so ull just need to tap into that line with the wire from the relay to the hellas. be sure to shrink wrap/electrical tape the connection.
     
  5. 01f1502wd

    01f1502wd going up? yes i am.

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    8,378
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    T.E.X.A.S
    The High beam is green-black, lo is red-black and ground is black naturally.
     
  6. 01f1502wd

    01f1502wd going up? yes i am.

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    8,378
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    T.E.X.A.S
    beatcha to it! :upyours:

    I wired all my hellas together on one switch, and a second for my laser beams on my roof :lazer: I use to have 5 pairs of lights with 5 switches..flipping all of them took forever!!!!
     
  7. Pity7700

    Pity7700 oh umm...uhh?

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,895
    Likes Received:
    278
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Flat rock Michigan
    jarrett beat me too it. LIGHT GREEN/BLACK is your high beam wire.
     
  8. Pity7700

    Pity7700 oh umm...uhh?

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,895
    Likes Received:
    278
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Flat rock Michigan
    hahahaha Mitchell ondemand was running a little slugish
     
  9. 06-STX

    06-STX Junior Member

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Thanks appreciate it, cant wait to get em wired up be nice to have that extra light output
     
  10. Pity7700

    Pity7700 oh umm...uhh?

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,895
    Likes Received:
    278
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Flat rock Michigan
    Just use the lt green/black wire for your "switch" wire pin 85, fused 12v contant from BATTERY pin 30, ground at pin 86 and lights at pin 87.
     

Share This Page