Backup camera kicking my butt...

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by somedayrockstar, Nov 1, 2015.

  1. somedayrockstar

    somedayrockstar Junior Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Palmer
    Tried starting what I thought would be a super easy project but is kicking my butt. Just tried adding a cheaper backup camera to my truck but it's defeating me. First it was running the rca cable and destroying the first one and having to buy a second one. Then not having the right connectors for tying in the wires. I always have tons of butt connectors and other things. Completely ran dry... Finally get it all hooked up and things then "no signal" I'm completely at a lost. I put my voltmeter at the camera power supply. There's power. Checked both ends of the rca. They're connected. I'm completely baffled at what it could be. Something so simple has really got me down...
     
  2. Roush PSD Interceptor

    Roush PSD Interceptor Straight Piped Diesel Staff Member

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    9,566
    Likes Received:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ringgold, Georgia
    Check the continuity of the RCA cable.
    Set the voltmeter to diode check and
    it should beep when a continuous circuit
    is detected.

    Check the center pin to the center pin
    with the meter then check the shield (outer)
    conductor to the same on the other end.

    Yes this would have been easier before
    the RCA had been fished through the chassis
    and cab.

    Or get a short length RCA and connect the camera
    to the monitor inside the cab as another test method.
    Then you will eliminate whether or not it is the RCA
    currentky ran to the rear of your truck.
     
  3. somedayrockstar

    somedayrockstar Junior Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Palmer
    Thanks for the tips. I just don't understand how something so easy turned into such a mess. I've installed tons of stereos amongst many other projects and never had this much difficulty and it's only two cables!
     
  4. ak_cowboy

    ak_cowboy Penguin Hunter

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    14,720
    Likes Received:
    259
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Alaska
    My backup cam has three wires. A ground, hot, and a trigger wire.
    Also, if you are grounding to the truck, the power has to come from the truck. That got me while I was running wires for a bit.
     
  5. somedayrockstar

    somedayrockstar Junior Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Palmer
    I ran a dedicated wire from the battery and grounded to the frame. Is that what you mean?
     
  6. ak_cowboy

    ak_cowboy Penguin Hunter

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    14,720
    Likes Received:
    259
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Alaska
    Yep. Where are you getting the power for your trigger wire from?
     
  7. somedayrockstar

    somedayrockstar Junior Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Palmer
    Haven't hooked that up yet. Was gonna just tap the reverse up front somewhere as soon as I figure out which one it is for sure. But also thought about just leaving it so I can manually turn it on while I'm driving to see how things looked back there.
     
  8. ak_cowboy

    ak_cowboy Penguin Hunter

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    14,720
    Likes Received:
    259
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Alaska
    Have you got the camera to work yet? With the power and ground hooked up, send power to the trigger wire. You should have an image.

    I wired my trigger wire to a switch on the dash so I can watch a trailer while going down the hwy. Easy peasy
     
  9. somedayrockstar

    somedayrockstar Junior Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Palmer
    Not yet been to busy with work and the lack of motivation when I get home in the dark and cold...

    What trigger wire are you talking about? The one on the deck that tells it is in reverse and makes the image come up automatically?
     
  10. ak_cowboy

    ak_cowboy Penguin Hunter

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    14,720
    Likes Received:
    259
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Alaska

Share This Page