how to wire offroad lights into high beam

Discussion in 'Tech Info' started by J.Wal, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. UtahFord

    UtahFord FFS best looking guy

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Location:
    Bountiful Utah
    Lol
     
  2. ak_cowboy

    ak_cowboy Penguin Hunter

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    14,843
    Likes Received:
    359
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Alaska
    Here ya go. I thought it was bigger, but I think photobucket downsized it some....

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Roush PSD Interceptor

    Roush PSD Interceptor 7.3L Straight Piped Diesel

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    9,862
    Likes Received:
    576
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ringgold, Georgia
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
  4. J.Wal

    J.Wal Full Access Member

    Posts:
    4,956
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Millington Tn
    Thanks for the drawings, I will be taking these to my shop and having them do it up!
     
  5. ak_cowboy

    ak_cowboy Penguin Hunter

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    14,843
    Likes Received:
    359
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Alaska
    Yeah...thats what I was aiming for. Same relay that I used too :peace:
     
  6. DarkShadowSTX

    DarkShadowSTX the "brat"

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    3,378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Brecksville, OH
    i want to do the same with my other 4 once i get them on so i can have them come on with my grill lights for a total of 6 :jester: don't cut me off or drive slower than the speed limit cuz you will be blinded lol
     
  7. ak_cowboy

    ak_cowboy Penguin Hunter

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    14,843
    Likes Received:
    359
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Alaska
    Haha I've flashed a couple people with mine. 4 35w HIDs and 310w's of halogens behind the grill gets their attention!
     
  8. pfbz

    pfbz Junior Member

    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Denver
    I realize this thread is a bit old, but here is my solution...

    Three modes with a single switch:
    • Aux lights always off.
    • Aux lights switched with highbeams.
    • Aux lights always on (when ignition on).
    [​IMG]

    You can also do it with a single relay instead of two, but it means running the high-beam wire from the front, through the firewall, into the switch, and back out to the front again. I'd rather swing the $5 for a second relay...

    I debated quite a bit on lights, but finally decided on two pairs of Rigid 'dually' LED lights. Two floods, two spots.

    Very durable, low current draw, good light dispersion.
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Zuk on 39s

    Zuk on 39s Banned

    Posts:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    NW Alabama
    I used a test light and probe'd the harness on my jeep for the "hi beam" wire. Used a relay and run the signal wire from the relay to the "hi beam" wire. Worked fine off the jeep switch b/c there was no extra load on it.

    Those diagrams just made things complicated in my head. If I was gonna have a toggle switch i wouldnt worry with tappin into the hi beam wires.
     
  10. Zuk on 39s

    Zuk on 39s Banned

    Posts:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    NW Alabama
    Damn this is from May wtf. who dug this up lol.
     

Share This Page