My truck's engine died...

Discussion in 'Engine & Performance' started by frank5079, Mar 9, 2017.

1. frank5079

frank5079 Junior Member

Hi, my name is Frank and I am new to this forum. I did a search first and didn't find any previous threads on this swap. Anyway, I have '94 XLT longbed with a 300 six and 5 speed which died last summer. Excess blowby caused the PCV to pop out and a small crack in my exhaust manifold sparked a small fire and partially burned part of the fuel rail and engine wiring harness. Needless to say I have my excuse to do an engine swap. I've gotten 351, along with underhood harness, radiator, engine mount perches, Y-pipe, from a '95 F250 and will mate it to my Mazda 5 speed. I also got a reman ECU, a new flywheel and clutch kit as well. I know I've read that I should use a ZF gearbox, but I'm a pretty conservative driver and don't plan to hammer the go pedal of this truck once I get her up and running. Can you guys give me any advice as to what else I might possibly need??

TIA

Frank

2. thesman727

thesman727 Full Access Member

You can beef up the Mazda trans, but a ZF5 (or maybe a 6, if you wanna do that) would be a much better idea. The Mazda unit was never intended for that much torque

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

Roush PSD Interceptor likes this.
  3. frank5079

frank5079 Junior Member

Months before my truck's engine died, I had changed the fluid in the Mazda gearbox and it wasn't discolored nor did I find anything metallic in the old fluid. I even added a quart of Lucas automatic transmission additive which made shifting gears even smoother.