Window Problem HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by Dawgfan54, Jun 3, 2013.

  1. Dawgfan54

    Dawgfan54 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    Okay guys if your familiar with stock ford wiring in the doors, I need your help.
    I've replaced two window regulators before in my front passenger and my rear left doors so I'm quite familiar on how they work and such.
    I'm stumped though.
    My rear right door window won't roll up. I looked at it today and took apart the door, and took the regulator out figuring it was broken like the other two. (i managed to scratch up my tint pretty bad in the process, not happy about it)
    Just to be sure I took off the left rear door, disconnected the working window regulator and plugged the one I took out of the rear right door in. It worked perfectly. I'm stumped.

    I first noticed the problem a week ago, I could only roll down the back left window when I used the switch on my driver door, in order to roll it up i had to reach back to my rear left window and use that switch.
    Now both switches aren't working, i think its wiring, cause obviously the motor isn't getting power, but I don't know where to start.
    I checked the circuit breaker for power to all the windows, and it works obviously cause i can still roll down other windows.
    I also noticed on my way home today that i can't control my front passenger window from my driver door switch. I can only do it by using the switch on the passenger front door.
    Its almost like its all deteriorating at once.

    Anyone had this problem or have an idea as to what the problem is?
     
  2. cowboy

    cowboy Sheriff Staff Member

    Posts:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Location:
    Lebanon, ohio
    Are you trying to roll both down at the same time or one at a time? Is tje truck running everytime you test?
     
  3. Dawgfan54

    Dawgfan54 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    I'm trying to roll one down each time I test, and no but the key is turned on to give it power.
    Does it matter if both are down together?
    It should still work?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. cowboy

    cowboy Sheriff Staff Member

    Posts:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Location:
    Lebanon, ohio
    Just trying to figure out power consumption. Does it act different with the engine on?
     
  5. VanoFord

    VanoFord Banned

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    6,925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    In my own imaginary world, where. Respect for wome
    More than likely the switch is bad. The UP toggle is prolly worn pretty low. You can either take apart the switch and carefully have t make contact again, or just eBay a new set and you are good. This was the issue in my truck. Just got a new switch locally.
     
  6. Dawgfan54

    Dawgfan54 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    vano- but its going bad in all of them? thats what doesn't make sense to me...

    cowboy- i haven't tried with the engine on, i didn't think it would make a difference, i thought it might be a bad relay but i dont know where or how to fix a relay...
     
  7. W.Hirsch

    W.Hirsch Yippie-Ki-Yay....

    Posts:
    962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Location:
    Millington, TN
    Think I would pick up a switch and give it a shot first. They are kinda cheap and if it still don't work you can take the switch back.
     
  8. Darth Bama

    Darth Bama Administator Staff Member

    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    I'd check the contacts on the switch first. My driver's side window did that a while back and I was about to order a new switch, luckily I checked it first. The contacts had become corroded fairly bad. Cleaned em, made a slight adjustment and it's worked great ever since. Never hurts to check...


    Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk
     
  9. TxFx04

    TxFx04 FFS Frequent Traveler

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    21,338
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Conroe, Tx
    ^ that. I had mine act up recently, I pressed the button and could hear the motor trying but it just wouldn't move. Popped the switches off and Got some of that CRC electronic cleaner and sprayed it and they work fine now
     
  10. Roush PSD Interceptor

    Roush PSD Interceptor Straight Piped Diesel Staff Member

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    9,566
    Likes Received:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ringgold, Georgia
    This is cheaper than a switch.
    Worth a try before investing in switches.
    Sold at Wal-Mart or auto parts retailers.

    CRC QD Electronic Cleaner

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page